EMS at the Federal Level

The Federal Interagency Committee for Emergency Medical Services (FICEMS) was established in 2005 by the reauthorization of the Department of Transportation. Public Law 109-59 (Section 10202), to ensure coordination among federal agencies involved with state, local, tribal and regional emergency medical services and 9-1-1 systems.

The following agencies are represented on FICEMS:

Department of Transportation

Department of Health and Human Services

Department of Homeland Security

Department of Defense

Federal Communications Commission

For more information about the role of federal agencies in supporting EMS, click here.