National EMS Awards of Excellence

Additional Info

Paramedic of the Year logo
EMT of the Year logo
Educator of the Year logo
Military Medic of the Year logo
Dick Ferneau Paid EMS Service Award
ZOLL Volunteer Service of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

Jerry Overton Receives the 2016 NAEMT Lifetime Achievement Award
Congratulations to Jerry Overton, Chair of the International Academies of Emergency Dispatch, on receiving the 2016 Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment, contributions and leadership to EMS. Jerry is a pioneer, an international EMS ambassador and has influenced EMS system design, dispatch protocols and clinical research around the globe. The award is NAEMT's most prestigious and is generously sponsored by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT). View Press Release

View past award recipients here.


NAEMT and EMS World are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 National EMS Awards of Excellence. The awards were presented during NAEMT's General Membership Meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 4, in New Orleans, La., and on Oct. 5, during EMS World Expo's opening ceremony. We congratulate the following recipients and recognize their outstanding contributions to emergency medical care:

  • Bryn Arnold, Paramedic, Indianapolis, Indiana
    2016 NAEMT/Nasco Paramedic of the Year, sponsored by Nasco
  • Nicole Richards, EMT, Burlington, Colorado
    2016 NAEMT/Braun Industries EMT of the Year, sponsored by Braun Industries
  • Leaugeay Barnes, Paramedic, Tulsa, Oklahoma
    2016 NAEMT/Jones & Bartlett Learning EMS Educator of the Year, sponsored by Jones & Bartlett Learning
  • Ernest Parrish, Paramedic/SOCOM Medic,
    Sergeant, U.S. Army, Joint Base Lewis-McChord (JBLM), Washington
    2016 NAEMT/North American Rescue Military Medic of the Year, sponsored by North American Rescue
  • New Hanover Regional Medical Center's Emergency Transport Services, Wilmington, N. Carolina
    2016 Dick Ferneau Paid EMS Service of the Year, sponsored by Ferno
  • Valhalla Volunteer Ambulance Corps, New York City
    2016 Volunteer EMS Service of the Year, sponsored by ZOLL

Recognizing outstanding achievement in the EMS profession.

Each year, NAEMT collaborates with other national EMS organizations to recognize outstanding achievements and contributions in EMS. By submitting a nomination, you not only recognize the candidate, you also honor and recognize the EMS profession — and all EMS professionals — who provide quality emergency patient care to their communities every day.

Nominations for 2016 awards were accepted online between February 15 and June 30, 2016. 

If you have any questions about our awards or the application process, please contact us at or 1-800-346-2368.