

National EMS Safety Council Meeting Wednesday, May 16, 2018, 11:00 am CDT Conference call number: 866-951-1151, Conference Room 668-161-053

In attendance: Chris Eastlee (AAMS), Lee Varner (Center for Patient Safety), John Todaro (NAEMSE), Michael Redlener, MD, (NAEMSP), Charlene Cobb (NAEMT), Kathy Wahl, (NASEMSO), Shirley Terry (NEMSMA), Dave Bryson (NHTSA), Melissa Trumbull (NAEMT), Jon Krohmer, MD (NHTSA), Pat Elmes (ACEP), Deanna Harper (ACEP), Rick Murray (ACEP)

Items discussed:

Fentanyl: Safety Recommendations for First Responders Video – Rick Murray

A 7-minute video has been produced to go along with the one-page information piece that was developed last October by the same title. It is still in the review process but once it is released we will share it with the members.

Update on National EMS Week – Rick Murray

Plans are in place to highlight as many safety related items as we can on Safety Tuesday and during EMS week. If anyone has safety information they would like to share we would be happy to receive those items and have them posted to the EMS Strong FB page on Safety Day.

EMS on the Hill Day 2018, just a reminder that we will be supporting and teaching Stop the Bleed Campaign and The CPR World Challenge. Thanks to all that have volunteered to assist with this campaign and will be attending to support the project. If anyone else is interested in volunteering and will be in the DC area, please come on out and join us.

Update on EMS Safety Awards Program – Charlene Cobb

The work the group has done so far was shared with those on the call. The initial plans included having 3-4 award categories as listed below with some having more than one award given per category. The possible cost associated with these awards was discussed and ways to fund them. The group will continue to work on the awards program and report back to the NEMSSC members. The current proposed 4 award categories are:

- 1. Individual award/First Responders-- Paramedics, EMTs, FF
- 2. Agency awards--
- 3. EMS Leader awards—
- 4. Research award--

Next call/meeting –

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be June 20, 2018 at 11:00 AM, Central Time.