Advancing the EMS profession

Award Sponsor

Horton_Logo_2c_tag (1) 240px

National Safety in EMS Award


The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) and the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) have partnered to annually recognize an organization which has significantly contributed to advancing EMS practitioner and/or patient safety through the Safety in EMS Award.

The organization selected to receive this annual award will have demonstrated achievement of one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Implemented activities that advance the Strategy for a National EMS Culture of Safety.
  2. Utilized proactive leadership to inspire all EMS personnel to practice safe work habits.
  3. Actively advocated for EMS Safety.

The 2021 NAEMT-ACEP/Horton Emergency Vehicle Safety in EMS Award recipient organization will receive a $1,000 cash prize, and one representative of the organization will receive a travel stipend and free registration to attend EMS Today, August 24-27, 2021 in San Antonio, TX. Representatives of the winning organization will be officially recognized at the 2021 EMS Today Opening Ceremony on Wednesday, August 25, and publicized by NAEMT and ACEP.

Nominations and Eligibility

Nominations for the 2021 Safety in EMS Award were accepted until July 15, 2021
This award will be given to an EMS agency which may submit a nomination on its own behalf, or nominations may be submitted by another individual or organization.