Advancing the EMS profession

History of NAEMT

NAEMT was founded in 1975, with support from the National Registry of EMTs and numerous leaders in emergency medicine. The association’s original members included A. Roger Fox; Donald A. Cross; Jeffrey S. Harris; David R. Boyd, MD; Stanley Bridges; J.D. Farrington, MD; David B. Hill; C. Keli Keliikoa; Rocco V. Morando; Robert E. Motley; James R. VanSteenburg; Roger D. White, MD; L. Joseph Young; and Walter Young.

NAEMT began its mission of educating EMS practitioners in the late 1980s with the introduction of PreHospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS). In 1999, the national rollout of the Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS) education program took place, followed by the national rollout of Pediatric Prehospital Care (PPC) in 2001. PPC was reintroduced as Emergency Pediatric Care (EPC) in 2007.

Today, NAEMT is the largest professional association for EMS practitioners in the United States. We’re proud of our history and look forward to a bright future. Additional resources on the history of NAEMT and the history of EMS in the United States are listed below: