Advancing the EMS profession

Top News

All News

Successful NAEMT Annual Meeting Recognizes Exemplary Service; Recounts Association Accomplishments

Oct 17, 2016

Hundreds of EMS practitioners, faculty, medical directors, and corporate and national partners attended the NAEMT Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Oct. 3-6. A special insert covering annual meeting events will be included in the winter issue of NAEMT News. It's not too early to mark your calendar for next year's annual meeting: October 16–19, 2017, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

If you weren't able to attend this year's annual meeting, we've compiled a few of the highlights for you:

General Membership Meeting: Oct. 4, 2016
A full audience turnout attended NAEMT’s largest event of the year to hear the state of the association remarks by NAEMT President Chuck Kearns, recognize key individuals, groups and partners, and celebrate our membership.

Jerry Overton Receives the 2016 NAEMT Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to Jerry Overton, Chair of the International Academies of Emergency Dispatch, on receiving the 2016 Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment, contributions and leadership to EMS. Jerry is a pioneer, an international EMS ambassador and has influenced EMS system design, dispatch protocols and clinical research around the globe. The award is NAEMT's most prestigious and generously sponsored by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT).

NAEMT Committees Drive and Execute NAEMT’s Projects and Activities

NAEMT's engines of progress are definitely fueled by the passion and dedication of our committee members. Over 300 members participate on 24 committees and work groups.  It has been a productive and rewarding year on all fronts. We are deeply grateful to all the volunteers who serve our committees and our association.


Congratulations to recipients of the 2016 Presidential Leadership Awards

  • Dennis Rowe, for his leadership of NAEMT’s education restructuring effort;

  • Sean Britton for his contributions to NAEMT’s new All Hazards Disaster Response (AHDR) course and the EMS Workforce Committee;

  • Robert Luckritz for his legal consult and public relations efforts; and

  • Dr. Craig Manifold for his medical guidance and contributions to NAEMT’s AHDR, AMLS and PEPL education programs.


Congratulations to the 2016 National EMS Award Recipients!

Together with EMS World, we congratulate the recipients of the 2016 National EMS Awards of Excellence and recognize their outstanding contributions to emergency medical care:

  • Bryn Arnold, Paramedic, Indianapolis, Indiana 2016 NAEMT/Nasco Paramedic of the Year, sponsored by Nasco

  • Nicole Richards, EMT, Burlington, Colorado 2016 NAEMT/Braun Industries EMT of the Year, sponsored by Braun Industries

  • Leaugeay Barnes, Paramedic, Tulsa, Oklahoma 2016 NAEMT/Jones & Bartlett Learning EMS Educator of the Year, sponsored by Jones & Bartlett Learning

  • Ernest Parrish, Paramedic/SOCOM Medic, Sergeant, U.S. Army, Joint Base Lewis-McChord (JBLM), Washington 2016 NAEMT/North American Rescue Military Medic of the Year, sponsored by North American Rescue

  • New Hanover Regional Medical Center's Emergency Transport Services, Wilmington, N.C. 2016 Dick Ferneau Paid EMS Service of the Year, sponsored by Ferno

  • Valhalla Volunteer Ambulance Corps, New York City 2016 Volunteer EMS Service of the Year, sponsored by ZOLL