Advancing the EMS profession

National EMS Advocacy Awards

NAEMT's EMS Advocate of the Year is a national award to recognize EMS professionals for their volunteer efforts to advance the EMS profession through advocacy. 

EMS professionals can be nominated by a colleague or peer during the award nomination period. Up to three individual awards will be granted. Award recipients receive national recognition.

Nominations will be evaluated on the extent to which the nominee effectively advocates for the passage of EMS legislation by:

  • Educating elected government leaders at the local, state or federal levels on the components of the legislation and how it supports the ability of EMS to provide quality patient care.
  • Building strong relationships with the elected officials and their staff who have influence over the passage of EMS legislation.
  • Educating fellow EMS professionals about EMS legislation; how the legislation would impact the ability of EMS to provide quality patient care, the importance of advocating for the legislation, and how to effectively advocate.
  • Engaging members of the EMS profession in advocacy activities in support of the legislation.
The nomination period for the 2023 award is now closed.

NAEMT EMS Advocate of the Year Award

  • 2023 Recipients

  • 2022 Recipients

  • 2021 Recipients

  • 2020 Recipients

  • 2019 Recipients

  • 2018 Recipients

  • 2017 Recipients

  • 2016 Recipients

  • 2015 Recipients

  • 2014 Recipients

NAEMT EMS Legislator of the Year Award